How to change the Location to only when the app is in use

Location services can be very useful however, the truth is that it is not always necessary to have them activated, in fact, in the case of some applications it is absolutely unnecessary. We told you a good example in episode 27 of Apple Talkings.

Before the release of iOS 8, the only options we had for the location feature were Always or Never. In this way, if we wanted our photos to be tagged with the location in which they had been taken, we had to allow the camera application to always keep track of your location, even when we were not using it, and this, obviously, It had an impact on both battery consumption and mobile data consumption.

However, since the arrival of iOS 8 we can configure certain applications to only track our location while the application is in use.

To do this, we will open the Settings app and follow the route Privacy → Location Services. There you will see a list of apps and the location tracking status. Most applications are set to Always or Never by default, but certain applications such as Maps, Siri or the camera can be configured to keep track of this information only when they are in use. Other applications, such as Facebook, can track location always, during use, or never. Scroll through the applications and adjust the location parameters to your liking.

To do this, you just have to click on the name of the app to which you want to apply the changes and, in the new screen, select the option you prefer. When you’re done, go back and repeat the process with another app.

Don’t forget that in our Tutorials section you have at your disposal an immense variety of tips and tricks for all your Apple devices, equipment and services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts